Sharing the Power of Learning
Minnesota Literacy Council
Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs
Updated
Feel free to contact programs on this list directly, or call Allison Runchey, MLC Volunteer Outreach Coordinator, at
(651) 645-2277 x219 or email volunteer@theMLC.org for a current list of openings. Allison can also help you to
determine which program would be a good fit for your skills and interests.
27-Feb-13
Program Contact Services
Offered
Volunteer
Opportunities
Time
Minneapolis Programs
Cedar Riverside Adult Ed Collaborative
1515 S 4th St, Box 2009
Minneapolis, MN 55454
ESL
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
(612) 376-0619
wt_doma@yahoo.com
http://cr.themlc.org/
Seyou Nurie
Comunidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio
(CLUES) Mpls
720 East Lake Street
Minneapolis, MN 55407
ESL
CITIZENSHIP
COMPUTER
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Afternoon
Evening
612-746-3504
fkernes@clues.org
www.clues.org
Fidelity Goodlaxson
English Learning Center (ELC)
2315 Chicago Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55404
ESL
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Small group teacher
Evening
612-874-9963 x 2
jenne@englishlc.org
http://www.oscs-mn.org/elcp/
Jenne Nelson
Franklin Learning Center (FLC)
1314 E Franklin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55404
ESL
Minneapolis Public Library
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Literacy Coordinator
952-847-2934
flc@hclib.org
http://www.hclib.org/pub/events/adultlearning
cente
Nancy Thornbury
Friends of the Nokomis Library ELL Program
5100 34th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55417
ESL One-to-one tutor
Afternoon
President of the Friends of the Nokomis
Library
612-396-5610
cacahuatekid@yahoo.com
Briana MacPhee
Hennepin County Government Center ABE
300 S 6th St Floor A-820
Minneapolis, MN 55487
GED
MATH
One-to-one tutor Morning
612-348-6893
tatiana.przytula@co.hennepin.mn.us
Tatiana Przytula
Page 1 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Hennepin County Library ABE - Mpls Central
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55401
ESL One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher Afternoon
Volunteer Coordinator
952.847.8545
mschuster@hclib.org
Margie Schuster
Holy Rosary/Santo Rosario (Centro
Guadalupano)
2424 18th Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55404
ESL
COMPUTER
Small group teacher
Morning
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
vcgm.centro@gmail.com
www.guadcenter.org
Ginger Graham
International Education Center
1128 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
ESL
International Education Center
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
612-871-6350 x315
shall@iecminnesota.org
www.iecminnesota.org
Steven Hall
Learning In Style
2200 Nicollet Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55404
ESL
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon 612-870-1815
stantonssnd@gmail.com
www.learninginstyleschool.org
Lori Ann Stanton
Lyndale Neighborhood Association
3537 Nicollet Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
ESL
Classroom Assistant Evening
Coordinator and Teacher
612-824-9402
erica@lyndale.org
www.lyndale.org
Erica Fulton
Admin Support
Minneapolis ABE - Northside Adult Education
Center
1250 West Broadway Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55411
ESL
GED
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
612-668-3984
ellen.lipschultz@mpls.k12.mn.us
http://commed.k12.mpls.mn.us/ABE.html
Ellen Lipschultz
Minneapolis ABE - Southside Adult
Education Ctr
2225 E Lake St
Minneapolis, MN 55407
ESL
Minneapolis ABE
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
612-668-3984
ellen.lipschultz@mpls.k12.mn.us
http://commed.mpls.k12.mn.us/ABE.html
Ellen Lipschultz
Minnesota Literacy Council (MLC) - Lake St
MLC Learning Center on E Lake St
2700 East Lake St Ste 2500
Minneapolis, MN 55406
ESL
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Learning Center Coordinator
612-483-1763
adonlan@themlc.org
www.mnliteracy.org
Annelisa Donlan
Page 2 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Minnesota Literacy Council (MLC) - North
Side
Sumner Library
611 Van White Memorial Blvd
Minneapolis, MN 55411
ESL
GED
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Evening
Morning Learning Center Coordinator
lbrown@mnliteracy.org
www.mnliteracy.org
Lloyd Brown
Minnesota Literacy Council (MLC) - Northeast
Trinity United Methodist Church
2511 Taylor St NE
Minneapolis, MN 55418
ESL
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Evening cgahagan@themlc.org
www.mnliteracy.org
Cavan Gahagan
People Serving People
614 S. 3rd St.
Minneapolis, MN 55415
GED
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
612-277-0256
mhaugen@peopleservingpeople.org
Mallory Haugen
Volunteers of America ABE
924 19th Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55404
ESL
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
612-375-0700
voavolunteer@gmail.com
Muna Ahmed
Wells Fargo Adult Education Center
Wells Fargo Bank
615 7th St N
Minneapolis, MN 55411
GED
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
612-668-3984
ellen.lipschultz@mpls.k12.mn.us
Ellen Lipschultz
Program Contact Services
Offered
Volunteer
Opportunities
Time
Saint Paul Programs
Arlington Hills Branch Library
1105 Greenbrier Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55106
ESL
Small group teacher
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
651-793-3930
tracy.baumann@ci.stpaul.mn.us
Tracy Baumann
CommonBond Skyline Towers
1247 St Anthony Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55104
ESL
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
651-999-7528
lisa.vogl@commonbond.org
www.commonbond.org
Lisa Vogl
Guadalupe Alternative Programs (GAP)
381 E Robie St
Saint Paul, MN 55107
ESL
GED
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Evening
Adult Educational Coordinator
(651) 222-0758 x303
evsjenkins@yahoo.com
www.gapschool.org
Erika Vazquez
Page 3 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Hmong American Partnership (HAP)
379 University Ave W Ste 204
Saint Paul, MN 55103
ESL
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant Evening
651-291-1811 x222
heatherk@hmong.org
www.hmong.org
Heather Kamia
Lao Family Community Arcade St
Lao Family English School
1299 Arcade St
Saint Paul, MN 55106
ESL
GED
CITIZENSHIP
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
ESL Instructor/Volunteer Coordinator
651-757-3121
jphillips@laofamily.org
www.laofamily.org
Jordan Phillips
Minnesota Literacy Council (MLC) - Arlington
Hills
Arlington Hills Lutheran Church
1115 Greenbrier St
Saint Paul, MN 55106
ESL
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
651-793-4423
glepage@mnliteracy.org
www.mnliteracy.org
Garrett LePage
Minnesota Literacy Council (MLC) - Rondo
Rondo Community Outreach Library
461 Dale St N
Saint Paul, MN 55103
ESL
GED
MATH
COMPUTER
Small group teacher Afternoon
Evening
651-266-7421
hnguyen@themlc.org
www.mnliteracy.org
Huong Nguyen
MORE Multicultural School for Empowerment
96 Wheelock Pkwy E
Saint Paul, MN 55117
ESL
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Education Program Manager
651-487-2728
sfried@more-empowerment.org
Sheryl Fried
Neighborhood House
179 Robie St E
Saint Paul, MN 55107
ESL
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
651.789.3626
rkarbon@neighb.org
www.neighb.org
Riley Karbon
SPPS Adult Basic Education/Community Ed -
Hubbs Center
1030 University Ave W
Saint Paul, MN 55104
ESL
St Paul Community Literacy Consortium (SPC
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
(651)744-7611
ruth.rodriguez@spps.org
http://hubbs.spps.org
Ruth Rodriguez
St. Anthony Park Lutheran Church - ESL
2323 Como Ave W
Saint Paul, MN 55108
ESL One-to-one tutor Morning
Afternoon
Evening
651-644-5660 - home
srabie@q.com
Sieg Rabie
Page 4 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Vietnamese Social Services (VSS)
277 University Ave W Ste #100
Saint Paul, MN 55104
ESL
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Program Manager, Volunteer Coordinator
651-917-3488
lynne@vssmn.org
www.vssmn.org
Lynne Croes
Program Contact Services
Offered
Volunteer
Opportunities
Time
Suburban Programs
Adult Academic Program of Robbinsdale
Area Schools
Sandburg Learning Center
2400 Sandburg Lane
Golden Valley, MN 55427
ESL
Robbinsdale Adult Academic Program
GED
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
763.504.6991
jill_kaufman@rdale.org
www.ced.Rdale.org
Jill Kaufman
Adult Options In Education (AOIE) - Hopkins
Eisenhower Community Ctr
1001 Hwy 7 Rm 228
Hopkins, MN 55305
ESL
Adult Options In Education - Hopkins
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Lead Teacher
952-988-4096
margaret_genereux@hopkins.k12.mn.us
www.adultoptions.org
Margaret Genereux
Adult Options In Education (AOIE) -
Minnetonka
Minnetonka Community Education Center
4584 Vine Hill Rd
Excelsior, MN 55331
ESL
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Evening
Lead Teacher
(952) 401-6839
mayo.hart@minnetonka.k12.mn.us
www.adultoptions.org
Mayo Hart
Adult Options In Education (AOIE) - St. Louis
Pk
Lenox Community Center
6715 Minnetonka Blvd
Saint Louis Park, MN 55416
ESL
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening miller.elizabeth@slpschools.org
www.adultoptions.org
Elizabeth Miller
Carver-Scott Educational Coop - Shakopee
792 Canterbury Rd S, Ste 231
Shakopee, MN 55379
Carver Scott Educational Cooperative
GED
BASIC READ
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
952-567-8128
lhenry@cseced.org
http://www.cseced.org/Adult_Basic_Educati
on_ABE.ht
Lynnea Henry
Cedar Valley Learning Center
14420 Glenda Drive
Apple Valley, MN 55124
ESL
Independent School District 196 ABE
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Evening
952-431-8316
kathryn.linder@district196.org
www.district196.org/abe
Kathy Linder
Crooked Lake Branch Library (Anoka County
Library)
11440 Crooked Lake Blvd.
Coon Rapids, MN 55433
Small group teacher
Branch Librarian
763-576-5972
Jenn.Straumann@co.anoka.mn.us
http://www.anoka.lib.mn.us/home.htm
Jenn Straumann
Page 5 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Lakeville Adult Learning Center (OEA)
20950 Howland Ave
Lakeville, MN 55044
ESL
Lakeville ABE
One-to-one tutor Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
arglassman@isd194.k12.mn.us
www.isd194.k12.mn.us
Anne Glassman
Metro East - Alt Prog ISD #622
1961 County Road C
Maplewood, MN 55109
ESL
Metro East - Moundsview - Roseville - North S
GED
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
ABE Consortium Manager, Volunteer
Coordinator
651-748-6202
shelland@isd622.org
http://harmonylearningcenter.webaloo.com/
Scott Helland
Metro North ABE - Literacy Volunteers in
Action
1201 89th Ave NE
Ste 335
Blaine, MN 55434
ESL
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Services Coordinator
763-783-4920
glenice.jones@anoka.k12.mn.us
www.metronorthabe.org
Glenice Jones
Admin Support
Metro North ABE - Sites list
Various sites
Metro Area, MN
Contact Metro North for details
Blaine, Brooklyn Center, Anoka-Hennepin,
Centennial, Columbia Heights, Elk River,
Forest Lake, Fridley, Spring Lake Park, St.
Francis
Additional sites
Metro South - ISD #271
2575 W 88th St #340
Bloomington, MN 55431
ESL
Bloomington - Metro South
GED
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
952-681-6114
mbayliss@bloomington.k12.mn.us
www.shapeschool.info
Mary Jo Bayliss
Metro South- Sites list
Various locations
Metro Area, MN
Contact Metro South for details
Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Edina, Richfield
Additional sites
Mounds View ABE
2101 NW 14th St
New Brighton, MN 55112
ESL
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
651-621-7409
beverly.kowalik@moundsviewschools.org
www.moundsviewschools.org
Beverly Kowalik
Osseo ABE - ISD #279
Adult Education Ctr
7051 Brooklyn Blvd
Brooklyn Center, MN 55429
ESL
Osseo ABE
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
763-585-7371
StumpfJohnsonM@District279.org
http://www.district279.org/services/Communi
tyEduca
Marlene Stumpf-Johnson
Page 6 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
Roseville Area Schools ISD #623
1910 West County Rd B
Roseville, MN 55113-3299
ESL
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator
651-604-3553
alice.holm@isd623.org
www.isd623.org
Alice Holm
School for Adults - Burnsville ABE ISD #191
288 W Burnsville Pkwy, Ste 104
Burnsville, MN 55337
ESL
Burnsville School for Adults
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
ABE Volunteer Coordinator - ESL Teacher
952-707-4127
tbernard@burnsville.k12.mn.us
www.isd191.org
Tammi Bernard
South Suburban ABE - So St Paul
517 Marie Ave
South Saint Paul, MN 55075
ESL
South Suburban ABE
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Evening
651-457-9441
tamara.smith@sspps.org
www.sspps.org/abe
Tamara Smith
South Washington County ABE - East Ridge
High School
4200 Pioneer Dr
Woodbury, MN 55125
ESL
South Washington County ABE
GED
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Classroom Assistant Evening hferguso@sowashco.k12.mn.us
http://www.cecool.com/Programs.aspx?ID=4
1
Heather Ferguson
Stillwater ABE
St Croix Valley Area Learning Ctr (ALC)
5640 Memorial Ave N
Stillwater, MN 55082
ESL
GED
BASIC READ
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Site Leader
651-351-8469
melink@stillwater.k12.mn.us
http://ce.stillwater.k12.mn.us
Kim Melin
WEST ABE - Plymouth/Wayzata
Interfaith Outreach and Community Partners (IOC
1605 County Road 101 North
Plymouth, MN 55447
ESL
WEST ABE - Northern and Eastern Groups
GED
BASIC READ
CITIZENSHIP
MATH
COMPUTER
One-to-one tutor
Small group teacher
Classroom Assistant
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Volunteer Coordinator, Program Manager
763-745-6034
Cheryl.lubinski@wayzata.k12.mn.us
www.wayzata.k12.mn.us
Cheryl Lubinski
WEST ABE - Sites list
Various locations
Metro Area, MN
Contact WEST ABE for details
West - Annandale, Buffalo, Howard Lake,
Montrose
East - Delano, Rockford, Orono, Maple
Plain, Long Lake, Wayzata, Plymouth
North - Monticello, Big Lake, Becker, Foley,
St. Michael-Albertville
Additional sites
Page 7 Metro Volunteer Literacy Programs 27-Feb-13
 davido.extraxim@gmail.com