COST Action 859 – Management Committee members 
(December 2008)

Chair:
Dr Jean-Paul Schwitzguébel
Laboratory for Environmental Biotechnology (LBE)
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL)
Station 6
CH - 1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel: +41-21 693 47 37
Fax: +41-21 693 47 22
E-mail:  jean-paul.schwitzguebel@epfl.ch

Vice-chair:
Dr Tomas Vanek 
Head of Laboratory of Plant Biotechnologies
Institute of Experimental Botany Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
and Research Institute of Crop Sciences
Rozvojova 263
CZ - 166 00 Prague 6
Czech Republic
Tel: + 420-603 434 370
Fax:
E-mail: vanek@ueb.cas.cz

COST Scientific Officer Food and Agriculture:
Dr Albino Maggio
COST Office
149 Avenue Louise 
BE - 1050 Brussels
Belgium
Tel: + 32-2 533 38 25
Fax: + 32-2 533 38 90
E-mail: amaggio@cost.esf.org

 
Dr Mark G.M. Aarts						
Laboratory of Genetics 
Wageningen University
Arboretumlaan 4
NL - 6703 BD Wageningen
Netherlands
Tel: +31-317 485 413
Fax: +31-317 483 146
E-mail: mark.aarts@wur.nl
Homepage: http://www.dpw.wageningen-ur.nl/genetics/

Assoc. Prof. Gerassimos D. Arapis
Laboratory of Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Agricultural University of Athens
Iera odos 75 - Botanikos
GR - 11855 Athens 
Greece
Tel: +30-210 529 44 65
Fax: +30-210 529 44 62
E-mail: mani@aua.gr

Prof. Pranas Baltrenas
Environmental Protection Department 
Environmental Engineering Faculty
Vilnius Gediminas Technical University
Sauletekio al. 11
LT - 10223 Vilnius-40 
Lithuania
Tel: +370-5 27 44 726/723
Fax: +370-5 27 44 731
E-mail: Pranas.Baltrenas@ap.vgtu.lt

Dr Meri Barbafieri
Sezione di Chimica del Suolo
Istituto per lo Studio degli Ecosistemi
Area della Ricerca del CNR di Pisa
Via Moruzzi, 1
IT - 56124 Pisa
Italy
Tel: +39-050 315 24 87
Fax: +39-050 315 24 73
E-mail: meri.barbafieri@ise.cnr.it

Dr Elias Bassil
Bioremediation Department
Atlantis Consulting Cyprus Ltd
Ioannou Grypari 2
CY - 1090 Nicosia
Cyprus
Tel: + 357-22 660 482
Fax: + 357-22 660 516
E-mail: e.bassil@atlantis.cy.net
Homepage: www.atlantisresearch.gr

Dr Maria-Pilar Bernal
Department of Soil and Water Conservation and Organic Waste Management
Centro de Edafologia y Biologia Aplicada del Segura (CEBAS)
CSIC: Apartado 164
Campus Universitario de Espinardo
ES - 30100 Espinardo, Murcia
Spain
Tel: +34-968 396 343
Fax: +34-968 396 213
E-mail: pbernal@cebas.csic.es

Dr Valérie Bert
Unité Technologies et Procédés Propres et Durables, DRC
INERIS
Parc Technologique ALATA, BP2
FR - 60550 Verneuil en Halatte
France
Tel: + 33-3 27 71 26 90
Fax: + 33-3 44 55 66 99
E-mail: valerie.bert@ineris.fr
Website: www.ineris.fr 

Dr Borbala Biro
Research Institute for Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry
Hungarian Academy of Sciences (RISSAC HAS)
Herman O. ut 15 
HU - 1022 Budapest 
Hungary
Tel: +36-1 224 36 56
Mobile: +36-20 2303 065
Fax: +36-1 224 36 27 
E-mail: biro@rissac.hu ; biro.borbala@axelero.hu 

Dr Alexandra Branco Ribeiro
Departamento de Ciencias e Engenharia do Ambiente
Faculdade de Ciencias e Tecnologia
Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Quinta da Torre
PT - 2829-516 Caparica
Portugal 
Tel: + 351-21 294 83 00 ext 10136
Fax: + 351-21 294 85 54
E-mail: abr@fct.unl.pt

Dr Hans Brix
Department of Biological Sciences 
Aarhus University
Ole Worms Allé, Building 1135
DK - 8000 Århus C.
Denmark
Tel: +45-89 42 47 14
Mobile: +45-28 99 20 31
Fax: +45-89 42 47 47
E-mail: hans.brix@biology.au.dk
Homepage: http://person.au.dk/hans.brix@biology.au.dk

Prof. Ramon Carpena Ruiz
Departamento de Quimica Agricola, Geologia y Geoquimica
Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
C-VII-202, Ctra. de Colmenar Viejo Km. 15
ES - 28049 Cantoblanco - Madrid
Spain
Tel: +34-91 497 39 38
Fax: +34 91 497 38 26
E-mail: ramon.carpena@uam.es

Prof. Lars P. Christensen 
Department of Food Science 
Danish Institute of Agricultural Sciences
Research Centre Aarslev
Kirstinebjergvej 10 
DK - 5792 Aarslev
Denmark
Tel: +45-89 99 33 67
Fax: +45-89 99 34 95
E-mail: larsp.christensen@agrsci.dk

Prof. Paolo Costantino
Genetica e Biologia Molecolare
Università di Roma 'La Sapienza'
Piazzale Aldo Moro 5
IT - 00185 Roma
Italy
Tel: +39-06 44 55 344
Fax: +39-06 44 40 812
E-mail: paolo.costantino@uniroma1.it

Dr David N. Dowling
Department of Science and Health
Institute of Technology Carlow
Kilkenny Road 
IE Carlow
Ireland
Tel: +353-59 917 04 87
Fax: +353-59 917 05 17
E-mail: david.dowling@itcarlow.ie

Prof. Mihail Dumitru
General Manager
National Research and Development Institute for Soil Science, Agrochemistry and Environment
Bd. Marasti 61 
Sector 1 
RO - 11464 Bucharest 
Romania
Tel: +40-21 318 43 49 or 44 60
Fax: +40-21 318 43 48 
E-mail: mdumitru@icpa.ro
Homepage: http://www.icpa.ro

Dr Trine Eggen 
Jordforsk
Norwegian Centre for Soil and Environmental Research
Frederik A. Dahlsvei 20
NO - 1432 Ås
Norway
Tel: +47-51 78 98 32 or: +47-90 99 70 74
Fax: +47-51 78 98 01
E-mail: trine.eggen@jordforsk.no

Dr Laszlo Erdei
Department of Plant Physiology
University of Szeged
PO Box 654
HU - 6701 Szeged
Hungary
Tel: +36-62 544 307
Fax: +36-62 544 307
E-mail: erdei@bio.u-szeged.hu
Homepage: http://www.sci.u-szeged.hu/plantphys

Prof. Stanislaw W. Gawronski
Department of Basic Natural Sciences in Horticulture
Warsaw Agricultural University
ul. Nowoursynowska 166
PL - 02787 Warsaw
Poland
Tel: +48-22 843 90 41 ext 1091
Fax: +48-22 843 75 07
E-mail: stanislaw_gawronski@sggw.pl

Prof. Avi Golan
Albert Katz Department of Dryland Biotechnologies
The Jacob Blaustein Institute for Desert Research
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
IL - 84990 Sede Boqer Campus 
Israel
Tel: +972-8 659 67 53
Fax: +972-8 659 67 42
E-mail: avigolan@bgu.ac.il

Prof. Wlodzimierz Grajek
Department of Biotechnology and Food Microbiology
August Cieszkowski Agricultural University of Poznan
Wojska Polskiego 34
PL - 60-627 Poznan
Poland
Tel: +48-61 846 60 02
Fax: +48-61 846 60 03
E-mail: grajek@owl.au.poznan.pl

Assoc. Prof. Maria Greger
The Plant Metal Group
Department of Botany
Stockholm University
SE - 106 91 Stockholm
Sweden
Tel: +46-8 161 210
Fax: +46-8 162 268 
E-mail: Maria.Greger@botan.su.se

Dr Miroslav Griga
Plant Biotechnology Department
AGRITEC Ltd
Zemedelska 16
CZ - 787 01 Sumperk
Czech Republic
Tel: +420-583 382 126
Fax: +420-583 382 999
E-mail: griga@agritec.cz

Prof. Dr Raimund Haberl
Institute for Sanitary Engineering and Water Pollution Control
Dept. Water, Atmosphere, Environment
University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences (BOKU) 
Muthgasse 18
AT - 1190 Vienna
Austria 
Tel: +43-1 360 06 58 01
Fax: +43-1 368 99 49
E-mail: raimund.haberl@boku.ac.at
Homepage: http://www.wau.boku.ac.at/sig.html
MC, WG4

Prof. Dr Patricia J. Harvey
Centre for Biosciences Research 
Medway School of Science
The University of Greenwich at Medway 
Central Avenue
Chatham Maritime
Kent, ME4 4TB
United Kingdom
Tel: +44-20 8331 9972/8423
Mobile: +44-07747 846 895
Fax: +44-20 8331 9805
E-mail: P.J.Harvey@greenwich.ac.uk

Dr Jean-François Hausman
Cellule de Recherche en Environnement et Biotechnologies (CREBS)
Centre de Recherche Public- Gabriel Lippmann (CRP-GL)
162A Avenue de la Faiencerie
LU - 1511 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tel: +352-47 02 61 437
Fax: +352-47 02 61 389
E-mail: hausman@crpgl.lu
Homepage: www.crpgl.lu

Dr Rolf Herzig
Phytotech Foundation
Quartiergasse 12
CH - 3013 Berne
Switzerland
Tel: +41-31 332 66 29
Fax: +41-31 332 66 83
E-mail: rolf.herzig.agb@bluewin.ch

Dan Istriteanu
Energy and Environment Division
Institute for Studies and Power Engineering
1-3 Lacul Tei Blvd 
RO – 020371 Bucharest
P.O.B. 30-33
Romania
Tel: +40-21 206 12 62 / 10 42
Fax: + 40-21 210 34 40
E-mail: dan.istriteanu@ispe.ro
Homepage: www.ispe.ro

Prof. Sirpa Kärenlampi
Institute of Applied Biotechnology 
University of Kuopio
PO Box 1627 
FI - 70211 Kuopio 
Finland
Tel: +358-50 553 82 25 
Fax: +358-17 281 15 10
E-mail: sirpa.karenlampi@uku.fi

Assoc. Prof. Frank Laturnus
Centre for Climate Change and Policy Research
The Tema Institute
Linköpings universitet
SE - 601 74 Norrköping
Sweden
Tel: +46-11 363 183
Fax: +46-11 363 292
E-mail: frank.laturnus@tema.liu.se

Prof. Nicholas W. Lepp 
School of Biological and Earth Sciences
Liverpool John Moores University
Byrom Street
Liverpool L3 3AF
United Kingdom
Tel: +44-0151 231 20 27 
Fax: +44-0151 207 32 24 
E-mail: n.w.lepp@livjm.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.livjm.ac.uk  

Prof. Paula M. Lima Castro
Escola Superior de Biotecnologia 
Universidade Catolica Portuguesa
Rua Dr Antonio Bernardino de Almeida 
PT - 4200-072 Porto
Portugal
Tel: +351-22 558 00 59
Fax: +351-22 509 03 51
E-mail: plcastro@esb.ucp.pt
Homepage: http://www.esb.ucp.pt/

Dr Desana Liskova
Institute of Chemistry
Slovak Academy of Sciences
Dubravska cesta 9
SK - 845 38 Bratislava
Slovakia
Tel: +421-2 59 41 02 65
Fax: +421-2 59 41 02 22
E-mail: chemlisk@savba.sk
Homepage: http://www.savba.sk/

Prof. Alexander Lux
Department of Plant Physiology
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Comenius University
Mlynska dolina B-2
SK - 842 15 Bratislava
Slovakia
Tel: +421-2 602 964 57
Fax: +421-2 654 290 64
E-mail: lux@fns.uniba.sk

Prof. Dr Bernd Markert
Internationales Hochschulinstitut Zittau
Markt 23
DE - 02763 Zittau
Germany
Tel:  +49-035 83 77 15 20
Fax: +49-035 83 77 15 34
E-mail: markert@schlundmail.de

Prof. Susete Martins-Dias
Centre of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Instituto Superior Técnico
Av. Rovisco Pais
PT - 1049-001 Lisbon
Portugal
Tel: +351-21 841 90 65/74
Fax: +351-21 841 90 62
E-mail: susetedias@ist.utl.pt
Homepage: http://dequim.ist.utl.pt/cebq/etrg/index.html

Prof. Dr Abdul R. Memon
Institute of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
TÜBITAK, MAM
PO Box 21
TR - 41470 Gebze, Kocaeli
Turkey
Tel: +90-262 677 33 15 (Office) 33 14 (Lab)
Fax: +90-262 646 39 29
E-mail: Abdulrezzak.Memon@mam.gov.tr

Dr Michel Mench
UMR INRA BIOGECO 1202 « BIOdiversité, Gènes et ECOsystèmes » 
Equipe Ecologie des Communautés
Université Bordeaux 1 
Bâtiment B8 - RdC Est- Porte 002
Avenue des Facultés 
FR - 33405 Talence 
France
Tel: +33-5 40 00 31 14 
Fax: +33-5 40 00 33 26
E-mail: mench@bordeaux.inra.fr

Prof. Roger Paul
Laboratoire de Toxicologie Environnementale
Faculté Universitaire des Sciences Agronomiques (FUSAGx)
BE - 5030  Gembloux 
Belgium
Tel: +32-81 62 24 59
Fax: +32-81 60 07 27
E-mail: paul.r@fsagx.ac.be
Homepage: http://www.fsagx.ac.be/bv/labtox/toxfpres.htm

Prof. Marjana Regvar
Department of Biology
University of Ljubljana
Vecna Pot 111
SI - 1001 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Tel: +386-61 123 33 88
Fax: +386-61 257 33 90
E-mail: marjana.regvar@bf.uni-lj.si

Dr Marion Reinhofer
Ecosystem Engeneering 
Institute of Sustainable Techniques and Systems 
Mauritzener Hauptstrasse 3
AT - 8130 Frohnleiten
Austria
Tel: +43-316 876 13 92
Fax: +43-316 876 913 92
E-mail: marion.reinhofer@joanneum.at
Homepage: http://www.joanneum.at/nts

Prof. Dr Peter Schröder
Department Microbe-Plant Interactions
Helmholtz Zentrum München
German Research Center for Environmental Health
Ingolstädter Landstraße 1
DE - 85764 Neuherberg
Germany
Tel: +49-89 31 87 40 56
Fax: +49-89 31 87 33 82
E-mail: peter.schroeder@helmholtz-muenchen.de
Homepage: http://www.helmholtz-muenchen.de

Prof. Bal Ram Singh 
Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences
Norwegian University of Life Sciences (UMB)
PO Box 5003
NO - 1432 Ås
Norway
Tel: + 47-64 96 55 64
Fax: + 47-64 94 82 11
E-mail: balram.singh@umb.no

Jaak Truu 
Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology
University of Tartu
Riia Str. 23
EE - 51010 Tartu 
Estonia
Tel: +372-7 375 012
Fax: +372-7 420 286
E-mail: jaak.truu@ut.ee  

Dr Vaidotas Vaisis
Environmental Protection Institute 
Environmental Engineering Faculty
Vilnius Gediminas Technical University
Sauletekio al. 11
LT - 10223 Vilnius-40 
Lithuania
Tel: +370-5 27 44 723
Fax: +370-5 27 44 731
E-mail: vaidotas.vaisis@ap.vtu.lt

Prof. Dr Jaco Vangronsveld
Universiteit Hasselt
Campus Diepenbeek
Environmental Biology
Agoralaan, building D
BE - 3590 Diepenbeek
Belgium
Tel: +32-11 268 331
Fax: +32-11 268 301
E-mail: jaco.vangronsveld@uhasselt.be

Dr Andon Vassilev
Department of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry
Agricultural University - Plovdiv
12 Mendeleev Blvd
BG - 4000 Plovdiv
Bulgaria
Tel: +359-32 654 408
Fax: +359-32 654 345
E-mail: vassilev@au-plovdiv.bg

Dr Jos A.C. Verkleij
Department of Ecology and Physiology of Plants
Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
De Boelelaan 1085
NL - 1081 HV Amsterdam
Netherlands
Tel: +31-20 444 70 54
Fax: +31-20 444 71 23
E-mail: jos.verkleij@falw.vu.nl

Dr Kim Yrjälä
Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences
University of Helsinki
PO Box 56
FI - 00014 Helsinki
Finland
Tel: +358-9 19 15 92 20
Fax: +358-9 19 15 92 62
E-mail: kim.yrjala@helsinki.fi
MC, WG2

 davido.extraxim@gmail.com