National   
   International   
   Networks   
   Organisations   
   Facilities   
   Publications   
   Guidelines   
   Submissions   
   Participants  
   Network Description  
   Network Programs  
   National Benefits  
   Australian Research Capacity  
   Overview   
   Current State   
   Infrastructure   
   Opportunities   
   Research Needs   
   References   
   Publications   
   Enabling Benefits  
   National Research Priorities   
   Mechanisms    
   AMRS   
   ACM   
   AMRIN   
   Research Activities   
   AMRS   
   ACM   
   AMRIN   
   Scope   
   Aims   
   Research Fields   
   Structure   
   Supporters   
   Publications   
   Participants by Institution   
   Mission   
   Members   
   Constitution   
 
 
 
 
  Home   
   Culture Collections   
   CHACM   
  Research Network   
   Information   
   Links   
   News & Events   
   Discussions   
   Search AMRiN Website   
   
 
 
 
 
 
Join AMRiN
Feedback
Contact Us



 
 
 
Register
Login 
 
  
  

Participants (in alphabetical order)
Listing of Participants by Institution
Dr Elizabeth Aitken 
School of Biological Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Australia 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 4775 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 1699 
Email: e.aitken@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Liz.Aitken.html 

Assoc Prof Ross Barnard 
Biotechnology Program 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Australia 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 4612 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 4699 
Email: rossbarnard@mailbox.uq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.biosci.uq.edu.au/~barnard/ 

Prof Mary Barton 
School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences 
University of South Australia 
Adelaide SA 5001 
Australia 
Tel: (61 8) 8302 2933 
Fax: (61 8) 8302 2389 
Email: mary.barton@unisa.edu.au 
Website: http://people.unisa.edu.au/Mary.Barton

Prof Peter Bergquist 
Biotechnology Research Institute 
Macquarie University 
Sydney NSW 2109 
Australia 
Tel: (61 2) 9850 8614 
Fax: (61 2) 9850 9748
Email: peter.bergquist@mq.edu.au 
Website: www.biotechnology.mq.edu.au 

Prof Robert Birch 
School of Biological Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Australia 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 3347 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 1699 
Email: r.birch@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Robert.Birch.html

Prof Linda Blackall 
CRC Environmental Biotechnology 
Advanced Wastewater Management Centre
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Australia 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 4645 
Fax: (61 7) 33654726 
Email: blackall@awmc.uq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.awmc.uq.edu.au/staff/lindab.html

Dr Susan Blackburn 
CSIRO Marine Science 
Hobart Tas 7000 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: ( 61 3) 6232 5307 
Fax: ( 61 3) 6232 5090 
Email: susan.blackburn@csiro.au 
Website: http://www.marine.csiro.au/microalgae 

Assoc Prof Michael Borowitzka 
School of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology 
Murdoch University 
Murdoch WA 6150
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 8) 9360 2333 
Fax: (61 7) 9360 6830 
Email: M.Borowitzka@murdoch.edu.au 
Website: http://wwwscieng.murdoch.edu.au/cgi-bin/phone.cgi?ID=aandyvksra

Dr David Bourne 
Australian Institute of Marine Science 
Cape Ferguson 
Townsville Qld 4810 
Tel: (61 7) 4753 4139 
Fax: (61 7) 4772 5852 
Email: d.bourne@aims.gov.au 
Website: http://www.aims.gov.au/pages/marine-bioproducts/mb-bourne01.html 

Dr. John Bowman 
School of Agricultural Science 
University of Tasmania 
Hobart Tas 7001 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 3) 6226 2776 or 2627 
Fax: (61 3) 6226 2642 
Email: john.bowman@utas.edu.au 
Website: http://www.antcrc.utas.edu.au/antcrc/research/micropro/micropro.html 

Dr Paul Burrell 
Department of Microbiology and Parasitology 
School of Molecular and Microbial Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 4647 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 4699 
Email: mailto:p.burrell@mailbox.uq.edu.au 

Prof Robert Capon 
The Centre for Molecular Biodiversity 
Institute of Molecular Biosciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3346 2979 
Fax: (61 7) 3346 2101 
Email: r.capon@imb.uq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.imb.uq.edu.au/index.html?id=12017 

Prof David Catcheside 
School of Biological Sciences 
Flinders University 
Adelaide SA 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 8) 8201 2335 
Fax: (61 8) 8201 3015 
Email: David.Catcheside@flinders.edu.au 
Website: http://www.scieng.flinders.edu.au/biology/people/catcheside_d/ 

Assoc Prof Rick Cavicchioli 
School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences 
University of New South Wales 
Sydney NSW 2052 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9385 3516 
Fax: (61 2) 9385 2742 
Email: r.cavicchioli@unsw.edu.au 
Website: http://www.babs.unsw.edu.au/staff_directory/cavicchiolir.html

Dr Sharon Chen 
Centre for Infectious Diseases and Microbiology 
Westmead Hospital 
Westmead NSW 2145 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9845 6255 
Fax: (61 2) 9893 8659 
Email: sharon.chen@swahs.health.nsw.gov.au 

Dr Peter Dart 
School of Land and Food Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 2867 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 1188 
Email: p.dart@uq.edu.au 

Dr John Dearnaley 
Department of Biological and Physical Sciences 
University of Southern Queensland 
Toowoomba Qld  4350
Australia 
Tel: (61 7) 4631 2804 
Fax: (61 7) 4631 1530 
Email: dearns@usq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.usq.edu.au/users/dearns/

Dr Ibrahim Diallo
Animal Research Institute
Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries 
Yeerongpilly Qld 4072 
Australia 4105
Tel: (61 7) 3362 9531
Fax: (61 7) 3362 9457 
Email: ibrahim.diallo@dpi.qld.gov.au

Dr Ralf Dietzgen 
Agency for Food and Fibre Sciences
Department of Primary Industries
Queensland Biosciences Precinct
The University of Queensland  
St Lucia Brisbane Qld 4072
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3346 2703 
Fax: (61 7) 3346 2727 
Email: ralf.dietzgen@dpi.qld.gov.au

Dr Gary Dykes 
CSIRO Food Science Australia 
Brisbane Qld 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3214 2037 
Fax: (61 7) 3214 2050 
Email: Gary.Dykes@csiro.au 
Website: http://www.uq.edu.au/lafs/index.html?page=23827&pid=24459

Assoc Prof David Ellis 
Mycology Unit 
Womens and Childrens Hospital
North Adelaide 5006 Australia 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 8) 8161 6459 
Fax: (61 8) 8161 7589 
Email: dellis@adelaide.edu.au 
Website: www.mycology.adelaide.edu.au 

Dr Mark Fegan 
Biosciences Research Division 
Department of Primary Industries 
Attwood VIC 3049 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 3) 9217 4338 
Fax: (61 3) 9217 4299 
Email: mark.fegan@dpi.vic.gov.au
 
Assoc Prof John Fuerst 
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Tel: (61 7) 3365-4643 
Fax: (61 7) 3365-4699 
Email: j.fuerst@mailbox.uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/John.Fuerst.html

Assoc Prof Karen Gibb 
School of Science and Primary Industries 
Charles Darwin University 
Darwin NT 0909 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 8) 89466705 
Fax: (61 8) 89466847 
Email: karen.gibb@cdu.edu.au 
Website: http://www.cdu.edu.au/research/profiles/profile_gibb.html 

Dr Phil Giffard 
Menzies School of Health Research 
Royal Darwin Hospital campus 
Casuarina NT 0811 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 8) 8944 8040 
Fax: (61 8) 8927 5187 
Email: Phil.Giffard@menzies.edu.au 

Assoc Prof Michael Gillings 
Molecular Prospecting Group 
Key Centre for Biodiversity 
Department of Biological Sciences 
Macquarie University 
Sydney , NSW, 2109 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (612) 9850 8199 
Fax: (612) 9850 9237 
Email: mgilling@rna.bio.mq.edu.au 
Website: http://biotechnology.mq.edu.au/Gillings2.htm

Dr Ailsa Hocking 
CSIRO Food Science Australia 
North Ryde NSW 2113 
Sydney 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9490 8520 
Fax: (61 2) 9490 8581 
Email: Ailsa.Hocking@foodscience.afisc.csiro.au 
Website: http://www.foodscience.afisc.csiro.au/ 

Dr Geoff Hogg 
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit Public Health Laboratory 
Department of Microbiology and Immunology 
University of Melbourne 
Melbourne VIC 3010 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 3) 8344 5701/5713 
Fax: (61 3) 8344 7833 
Email: g.hogg@mdu.unimelb.edu.au

Dr Andrew Holmes 
School of Molecular and Microbial Biosciences 
University of Sydney 
Sydney NSW 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9351 2530 
Fax: (61 2) 9351 4571 
Email: A.Holmes@mmb.usyd.edu.au 
Website: http://www.mmb.usyd.edu.au/research.php?person=holmesa 

Dr Tim Inglis 
Western Australia Health Department 
Perth . WA 
AUSTRALIA 
Email: Tim.Inglis@health.wa.gov.au 

Assoc Prof Elena Ivanova
Environment and Biotechnology Centre
Swinburne University of Technology
Hawthorn Vic 3122
AUSTRALIA
Tel: (61 3) 9214 5137
Fax: (61 3) 9810 0834
Email: EIvanova@groupwise.swin.edu.au
Website: http://www.swin.edu.au/lss/ebc/groups.html

Mr Ian Jameson 
CSIRO Division of Marine Research 
Hobart Tas 7001 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 3) 6232 5117 
Fax: (61 3) 6232 5471 
Email: ian.jameson@csiro.au 
Website: http://www.marine.csiro.au/microalgae/collection.html

Prof Staffan Kjelleberg 
School of Biotechnology and Molecular Sciences 
University of New South Wales 
Sydney NSW 2052 
Tel: (61 2) 9385 2102 
Fax: (61 2) 9385 1779 
Email: S.Kjelleberg@unsw.edu.au 
Website: http://www.babs.unsw.edu.au/staff_directory/kjellebergs.html

Dr Athol Klieve 
Agency for Food and Fibre Sciences 
Department of Primary Industries 
Brisbane Qld 
Email: Athol.Klieve@dpi.qld.gov.au 

Dr Ipek Kurtböke 
Faculty of Science
University of the Sunshine Coast  
Maroochydore DC Qld 4558
Tel: (61 7) 5430 2819 
Fax: (61 7) 5430 2881 
Email: ikurtbok@usc.edu.au 
Website: www.usc.edu.au/University/AcademicFaculties/Science/Staff/Kurtböke.htm

Dr Ala Lew-Tabor 
Agency for Food and Fibre Sciences 
Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries 
Brisbane Qld 
Email: Ala.Lew@dpi.qld.gov.au 

Dr Simon McKirdy 
Plant Health Australia 
Canberra ACT 
Tel: (61 7) 6260 4322 
Email: simon@phau.com.au 
Website: www.phau.com.au 

Dr Chris Mc Sweeney 
CSIRO Livestock Industries 
Queensland Bioscience Precinct 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Email: chris.mcsweeney@csiro.au 

Assoc Prof Wieland Meyer 
Western Clinical School 
Molecular Mycology Research Laboratory
Centre for Infectious Diseases and Microbiology
Westmead Hospital 
Westmead NSW 2145 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9845 6895 
Fax: (61 2) 9891 5317 
Email: w.meyer@usyd.edu.au 
Website: http://www.mmrl.med.usyd.edu.au 

Prof Peter O'Donoghue 
Department of Microbiology and Parasitology 
School of Molecular and Microbial Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 2584 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 4620 
Email: p.odonoghue@mailbox.uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Peter.O'Donoghue.html

Prof Scott O'Neill 
School of Biological Sciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (6 1 7) 3365 2471 
Fax: ( 61 7) 3365 1655 
Email: scott.oneill@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Scott.O'Neill.html

Ms Diane Ouwerkerk 
Agency for Food and Fibre Sciences 
Department of Primary Industries 
Brisbane Qld 
Tel: (61 7) 3362 9519 
Fax: (61 7) 3362 9429 
Email: Diane.Ouwerkerk@dpi.qld.gov.au 

Prof Bharat Patel 
School of Biomolecular and Biomedical Sciences 
Griffith University 
Nathan
Brisbane Qld 4111
Tel: (61 7) 3735 7695 
Fax: (61 7) 3735 7800 
Email: b.patel@griffith.edu.au 
Website: http://trishul.sci.gu.edu.au/

Mrs  Diana Pavlovic 
Consulchem  
Scoresby Vic 3179 
Tel: (61 3) 9764 8881
Fax: (61 3) 9764 9992 
Email: micro@consulchem.com.au  
Website: www.consulchem.com.au

Dr Michael Priest 
Plant Pathology Herbarium 
Orange Agricultural Institute 
NSW Agriculture 
Orange NSW 2800 
Tel: 02) 6391 3800 
Fax: (02) 6391 3899 
Email: michael.priest@agric.nsw.gov.au 
Website: http://www.anbg.gov.au/chah/resources/herbaria/dar.html 

Prof William Rawlinson 
Virology Division SEALS
Department of Microbiology
Prince of Wales Hospital
Randwick NSW 2031
Australia 
Tel: (61 2) 9382 9113 
Fax: (61 2) 9398 4275 
Email: w.rawlinson@unsw.edu.au 
Website: http://www.virusesinmay.com

Dr Steve Reid 
Biotechnology Program 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 3991/5400 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 4699 
Email: stever@cheque.uq.edu.au 

Dr Justin Ridge 
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 3211 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 4699 
Email: j.ridge@mailbox.uq.edu.au 

Professor Peter Rogers 
School of Biotechnology and Molecular Sciences 
University of New South Wales 
Sydney NSW 2052 
Email: p.rogers@unsw.edu.au 

Dr Mark Schembri 
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Email: m.schembri@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Mark.Schembri.html

Dr Roger Shivas 
Plant Pathology Herbarium 
Agency for Food and Fibre Sciences 
Department of Primary Industries 
Indooroopilly Qld 4068 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3896 9340 
Fax: (61 7) 3896 9533 
Email: Roger.Shivas@dpi.qld.gov.au 
Website: http://www.planthealthaustralia.com.au/APPD/contributors/BRIP.asp 

Prof Lindsay Sly 
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
Tel: (61 7) 3365 2396 
Fax: (61 7) 3365 1566 
Email: l.sly@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://profiles.bacs.uq.edu.au/Lindsay.Sly.html

Dr Peter Stephens 
Northern Australia Quarantine Service 
Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service 
Darwin NT 
AUSTRALIA 
Email: Peter.Stephens@aqis.gov.au 

Prof Hatch Stokes 
Department of Biological Science 
Macquarie University 
Sydney NSW 2109 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 2) 9850 8164 
Fax: (61 2) 9850 8245 
Email: hstokes@rna.bio.mq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.chem.mq.edu.au/academics/hstokes.html

Dr Darren Trott 
School of Veterinary Science 
University of Queensland 
Brisbane Qld 4072 
AUSTRALIA 
Tel: (61 7) 3 365 2985 
Fax: (61 7) 3 365 1355 
Email: d.trott@uq.edu.au 
Website: http://www.uq.edu.au/nravs/?page=6989&pid=6936 
  
 
 Quick Links
Participants
Culture Collections 
News & Events
 
 
 
 
 Terms Of Use     
 Privacy Statement Copyright 2005-2009   
 
 
 

 

 davido.extraxim@gmail.com